Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAP Job Search Tutorial: Directories, Trade Magazines, and Career Cruising

This tutorial is for CAP students completing the Job Search Assignment at Seneca College.

What are Directories?

Directories are organized electronic and print listings of contact information. The amount of information provided for each entry can range from brief to detailed. Directories can be organized in different ways, including alphabetically, geographically, or by subject. Many of the resources in this tutorial are electronic and print directories.

There are two types of directories: general and specialized.

General directories:

stack of print yellow pages directories

General directories provide brief contact information. For example, yellow and white page telephone books list contact names and addresses. Canpages.ca is an example of a print and an electronic directory. The Yellow Pages is an example of a print and an electronic directory.

Specialized directories:

images of print directories including Associations Canada and Scott's Directories

Specialized directories provide more detailed information than general directories. For example, some business directories may list addresses, size, number of employees, scope of business or service, annual revenues and in some cases, much more. Scott’s Directories is an example of an electronic directory. Canadian Key Business Directory is an example of a print directory.

 

What are Trade Magazines?

The trade magazine you need for your assignment covers information about a specific industry and are written by industry experts. Trade magazines are not written for the general public. Instead, they are written for people working or studying in the field. These are available in electronic or print formats. Every industry usually has at least one trade magazine.

For example:

Magazines like Maclean’s and Time are NOT trade magazines. These magazines contain articles that are written for the general public and have articles covering topics that are not specific to one industry or profession.

Trade magazines include industry-specific research, reports, and articles. The language used in the trade magazines may include industry terms, as the articles are written for people working or studying in the industry or profession.

Trade magazines keep you up-to-date with what’s happening in your industry. They alert you to upcoming trade shows and conferences.  The advertisements are industry-specific, so you can sometimes use them as job opportunities. Advertisements can introduce you to new types of job opportunities to consider.

Selected Resource:

You can find trade magazines electronically and in print.

Serials Directory is a great place to find a trade magazine. It is an electronic directory of more than 250,000 publication titles, many of which are trade magazines.

Search for your industry or job title to retrieve a specific publication about your industry.

Anytime you see the “Find It” button, you can click it to see if Seneca Libraries has a subscription to that magazine. If the library has a subscription it will link you to the database you can use to find the articles from the magazine.

Serials Directory lists subscription information and includes a link to the websites of the magazines. Sometimes magazines have “back” or “archived” issues available for free on their websites. They may also have additional features such as blogs, top stories, video clips, reports, and more.

What is Career Cruising?

Career Cruising is a library database. It profiles over 450 occupations with Canadian information.

How do I search for an occupation?

Follow these steps for searching the Career Cruising database:

  1. Go to the Career Cruising database (you’ll need to enter your username and password)
  2. Type your career in the top search box
  3. Click the link for the career

Career Cruising offers the following categories of information:

  • At a Glance
  • Job Description
  • Working Conditions
  • Earnings
  • Education
  • Sample Career Path
  • Related Careers
  • Other Resources
  • Interviews
  • Job Postings