LibGuides: APA Citation Guide (APA 7th Edition): Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia/Dictionary Entry from a Library Database with Known Author

Reference List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). https://doi.org/DOI-number-if-given

Example

Gannon, P. (n.d.). Brain evolution. In AccessScience Mcgraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology (10th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1036/1097-8542.YB150959

In-Text Citation: Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)

Example

(Gannon, n.d., Comparative Anatomy section, para. 1)

Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example

(Gannon, n.d.)

Encyclopedia/Dictionary Entry from a Library Database with No Author

Reference List Citation

Title of entry. (Year of Publication). In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). https://doi.org/DOI-number-if-given

Example

Canada. (2019). In Encyclopedia Britannica.

Note: This encyclopedia entry has no editor.

In-Text Citation: Quote

("Title of Entry," Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)

Example

("Canada," 2019, Economy section, para. 2)

Note: If a dictionary or encyclopedia entry has no author, the in-text citation should include the title of the entry. The title of the entry should be in quotation marks, with each word starting with a capital letter.

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

("Title of Entry," Year)

Example

("Canada," 2019)

Encyclopedia/Dictionary Entry from a Website with Known Author

Reference List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication).Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). URL

Example

Beck, J., & Foley, D. (2012). Music composition. In The Canadian encyclopedia. https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/music-composition

In-Text Citation: Quote

(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year, page or paragraph number)

Example

(Beck & Foley, 2012, para. 2)

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

(First Author's Last Name & Second Author's Last Name, Year)

Example

(Beck & Foley, 2012)

Encyclopedia/Dictionary Entry from a Website with No Author

Reference List Citation

Title of entry. (Year of Publication). In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (edition if given and is not first edition). URL

Example

Acetone. (2012). In Macmillan dictionary. http://www.macmillandictionary.com/dictionary/british/acetone

In-Text Citation: Quote

("Title of entry," Year, page or paragraph number)

Example

("Acetone," 2012, para. 1)

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

("Title of entry," Year)

Example

("Acetone," 2012)

Print Encyclopedia/Dictionary with Known Author

Reference List Citation

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of entry. In Editor's First Initial. Second Initial if given. Last Name (Ed.), Name of encyclopedia or dictionary (Volume number, pp. first page of entry-last page of entry). Publisher Name often shortened.

Example

King, P. N., & Wester, L. (1998). Hawaii. In The world book encyclopedia (Vol. 9, pp. 88-110). World Book.

In-Text Citation: Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. page number or section name and paragraph number)

Example

(King & Wester, 1998, p. 90)

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example

(King & Wester, 1998)

Print Encyclopedia/Dictionary with No Author

Reference List Citation

When there is no named author for the entry, treat the dictionary/encyclopedia as an edited book and move the editors to the author position:

Editor, A., & Editor, B. (Eds.). (Date). Dictionary/Encyclopedia entry. In Name of dictionary/encyclopedia (edition, if not the first). Publisher.

Example

Hughes, J. M., Michell P. A., & Ransom, W. S. (Eds.). (1992). Zucchini. In The Australian concise Oxford dictionary (2nd ed.). Oxford University Press.

In-Text Citation: Quote

(Editor's last name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example

(Hughes, Michell, Ransom, 1992 p. 227)

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

(Editor's last name, Year)

Example

(Hughes, Michell, Ransom, 1992)

Wikipedia

Note: Wikipedia is generally considered an unacceptable source for a college or university assignment. Be sure to evaluate the content carefully and check your assignment requirements.

Reference List Citation

Title of article in sentence case. (Year, Month, Day article was updated). In Wikipedia. URL of archived revision of the article on the chosen date

Example

Video game. (2019, October 29). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Video_game&oldid=923638998

In-Text Citation: Quote

("Article Title," year, para. paragraph number)

Example

("Video Games," 2019, para. 3)

Note: If a dictionary or encyclopedia entry has no author, the in-text citation should include the title of the entry. The title of the entry should be in quotation marks, with each word starting with a capital letter.

When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.

In-Text Citation: Paraphrase

("Article Title," year)

Example

("Video Games," 2019)