Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Recreation, Fitness, & Environment: Fitness & Health Promotion

This guide was created to support the Recreation community at Seneca College. It showcases articles, documents, websites, and other resources of interest to the Recreation-based programs at Seneca.

Seneca Library Search

Add topic keywords in the Library Search field, then press enter.  

Research Article Databases

Browse all Health Sciences databases available at Seneca.

Browse all  Recreation & Wellness databases available at Seneca.

Streaming Videos

Browse through documentaries and educational videos on the following topics from the following streaming video databases.

Access a wide array of films, documentaries, news clips and learning modules through these databases:

Recreation eBooks

Nature Rx: Improving College-Student Mental Health

Nature Rx: Improving College-Student Mental Health

Play Therapy: A Psychodynamic Primer for the Treatment of Young Children

Play Therapy: A Psychodynamic Primer for the Treatment of Young Children

Play Development in Children with Disabilties

Play Development in Children with Disabilties

The Multi-Sensory Reminiscence Activity Book: 52 Weekly Group Session Plans for Working with Older Adults

The Multi-Sensory Reminiscence Activity Book: 52 Weekly Group Session Plans for Working with Older Adults

101 More Favorite Play Therapy Techniques

101 More Favorite Play Therapy Techniques

Clinical Sports Psychiatry: An International Perspective

Clinical Sports Psychiatry: An International Perspective

Encyclopedia of Sports & Recreation for People with Visual Impairments

Encyclopedia of Sports & Recreation for People with Visual Impairments 

Evidence-based applied sport psychology: a practitioner’s manual

Evidence-based applied sport psychology: a practitioner’s manual

Field Exercises: How Veterans are Healing Themselves through Farming and Outdoor Activities

Field Exercises: How Veterans are Healing Themselves through Farming and Outdoor Activities

Group and Individual Work with Older People: A Practical Guide to Running Successful Activity-based Programmes

Group and Individual Work with Older People: A Practical Guide to Running Successful Activity-based Programmes

Lifelong Engagement in Sport and Physical Activity: Participation and Performance across the Lifespan

Lifelong Engagement in Sport and Physical Activity: Participation and Performance across the Lifespan

Special Needs, Special Horses: A Guide to the Benefits of Therapeutic Riding

Special Needs, Special Horses: A Guide to the Benefits of Therapeutic Riding

Seated tai chi and qigong: guided therapeutic exercises to manage stress and balance mind, body and spirit

Seated tai chi and qigong: guided therapeutic exercises to manage stress and balance mind, body and spirit

Handbook of Sports Psychology

Handbook of Sports Psychology

Transforming the Quality of Life for People with Dementia Through Contact with the Natural World: Fresh Air on My Face

Transforming the Quality of Life for People with Dementia Through Contact with the Natural World: Fresh Air on My Face

The Restless Compendium: Interdisciplinary Investigations of Rest and Its Opposites

The Restless Compendium: Interdisciplinary Investigations of Rest and Its Opposites

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.