Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Citation Guide (MLA 7th Edition): Business Reports from Library Databases

Formatting

Note: For your Works Cited list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Note

These citations on this page are not directly from the MLA Handbook but are recommendations by Seneca Libraries.

Tips

Access Date

For all content found on the Web, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. This comes last in a citation.

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

The italicized corporate name after the title or description is different from the italicized name of the database.

Database Names

The name of the database will usually apear at the top of the search screen. Note that ProQuest and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.

Dates

The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g. 5 Sept. 2012.

If no date is listed, write n.d.

Page Numbers

If no page number is listed, write n. pag. in the Works Cited list.>

Titles

Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

If the title is missing (as in some Passport GMID Academic reports), provide a brief and succinct description of the report or information in place of the title.

Report from Business Source Premier

"Title of Report." Name of Company that Published the Report Date of publication: Page numbers. Business Source Premier. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Bombardier Inc." MarketLine 15 May 2009: 1-37. Business Source Premier. Web. 5 Mar. 2013.

Note: Reports found in Business Source Premier will say they are published either by Datamonitor or MarketLine. Check the report to confirm.

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Report" Page Number)

Example: ("Bombardier Inc." 14)

Report from MarketLine Advantage

"Title of Report." MarketLine Date of publication: Page numbers. MarketLine Advantage. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Toyota Industries Corporation." MarketLine 31 July 2012: 1-7. MarketLine Advantage. Web. 30 Jan. 2013.

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Report" Page Number)

Example: ("Toyota" 2)

Report from Mintel

"Title of Report." Mintel Group Ltd Date of publication: n. pag. Mintel. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Back to School Shopping - US - January 2012." Mintel Group Ltd June 2011: n. pag. Mintel. Web. 17 Feb. 2013.

Note: No page numbers were provided for this report, so write "n. pag."

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Report")

Example: ("Back to School")

Note: This entry has no page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings so this information is left out of the in-text citation.;

Report from LexisNexis

"Name of Company as it Appears in Overview." LexisNexis Date of publication: n. pag. LexisNexis Academic Universe. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Canadian Tire Corp Ltd." LexisNexis 2012: n. pag. LexisNexis Academic Universe. Web. 17 Feb. 2013.

Note: No page numbers were provided for this report, so write "n. pag."

In-Text Citation Example

("Name of Company as it Appears in Overview")

Example: ("Canadian Tire")

Note: This entry has no page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings so this information is left out of the in-text citation.;

Article or Report from Passport GMID With a Title

"Title of Article." Euromonitor International. Date of publication: Page numbers. Passport GMID. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Beer in Mexico." Euromonitor International. 21 Dec. 2011: n. pag. Passport GMID. Web. 5 Mar. 2013.

Note: No page numbers were provided for this report, so write "n. pag."

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Article")

Example: ("Beer")

Note: Write the first word or words from your description using quotation marks.

Information from Passport GMID Without a Title (Charts, Tables, etc.)

Description of information. Euromonitor International. Date of publication or n.d. if no date given: N. pag. Passport GMID. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

Market sizes of alcoholic drinks in North America. Euromonitor International. N.d.: n. pag. Passport GMID. Web. 5 Mar. 2013.

Note: No page numbers were provided for this report, so write "n. pag."

In-Text Citation Example

("Description of Information")

Example: ("Market sizes")

Note: Write the first word or words from your description using quotation marks.

Company Profile Information from Scott's Directories

"Name of Company." Company Profile. Year of publication. Scott's Directories. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Importel Inc." Company Profile. 2014. Scott's Directories. Web. 13 Feb. 2014.

In-Text Citation Example

("Name of Company")

Example: ("Importel")

Note: This entry has no page numbers so this information is left out of the citation.

CARDonline

"Name of Media Outlet." Type of Media Profile. Date. CARDonline. Web. Access date.


Works Cited List Example

“Canadian Business.” Business Publications  (Business). 12 Sept. 2014. CARDonline. Web. 1 Dec. 2014.

Note: The type of media profile can be found underneath the Name of Media Outlet

In-Text Citation Example

("Name of Media Outlet")

Example: ("Canadian Business")

Report from WGSN

"Title of Report." WGSN Date of publication: Page numbers. WGSN. Web. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

"Upscale Athleisure." WGSN 8 March 2015: n. pag. WGSN. Web. 14 Sept. 2015.

Note: If there are no pages, write n. pag.

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Article")

Example: ("Upscale Athleisure")

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.