Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Citation Guide (MLA 7th Edition): Magazine Articles

Formatting

Note: For your Works Cited list, all citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

How Can I Tell if it's a Magazine?

Multiple magazines with covers facing out on display. Image from Flickr by Mannobhai

Photo courtesy of Flickr by Manoj Jacob. Available under a Creative Commons license.

Not sure whether your article is from a magazine? Look for these characteristics:

Popular magazines:

  • Main purpose is to entertain, sell products or promote a viewpoint.
  • Appeal to the general public.
  • Often have many photos and illustrations, as well as many advertisements.
  • Author may or may not have subject expertise.
  • Name and credentials of authors often NOT provided.
  • Articles tend to be short –less than 5 pages
  • Unlikely to have a bibliography or references list

Trade magazines:

  • Main purpose is to update and inform readers on current trends in a specific industry or trade.
  • Audience is members of a specific industry or trade or professors and students in that trade or industry
  • May have photos and numerous advertisements, but still assume that readers understand specific jargon of the profession.
  • Usually published by an association.
  • Authors are professionals working in the specific industry or trade.

Articles may also come from journals or newspapers.

Tips

Access Date

For all content found on the Web, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. This comes last in a citation.

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

Database Names

The name of the database will usually appear at the top of the search screen. Note that ProQuest and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.

If you have used the function to search multiple databases at once and therefore do not know the individual database name, enter the name of the database provider (e.g. ProQuest) as the database.

Dates

The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g. 5 Sept. 2012.

If no date is listed, write n.d.

Page Numbers

If no page number is listed, write n. pag. in the Works Cited list.

If the entire article is only one page, do not include a page number in the in-text citation.

If the article appears on non-consecutive pages (e.g., the article starts on page 5 then continues on page 12), write the first page number and a plus (+) sign. E.g., 5+

For page numbers with the same first digit, you can leave out the first digit on the second page number listed. E.g., An article spanning pages 156 to 179 can be written as 156-79. An article spanning pages 72-79 can be written as 72-9.

Titles

Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

Magazine Article From a Library Database - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Name of Database. Format. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

Weinstein, Becca. "Trying Before Buying." Psychology Today May-June 2012: 46-7. ABI/INFORM Global. Web. 25 Jan. 2013.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Weinstein 46)

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Two or More Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, Second Author's First Name Last Name, and Third Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Name of Database. Format. Access date.

Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

Works Cited List Example

Bosch, James Vanden, David Crump, Janel Curry, Debra Freeberg, Cynthia Kok, and Christina Van Dyke. "Divorce and the Congregation." Books and Culture Mar.-Apr. 2012: 22. Academic OneFile. Web. 6 Feb. 2013.

In-Text Citation Example

In-text citations vary for 2, 3, and 4 (or more) authors.

See chart here for examples.

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Unknown Author

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Name of Database. Format. Access date.

Note: If the author is unknown, begin the citation with the title of the article.

Works Cited List Example

"Canned Soda?" Restaurants and Institutions 15 Sept. 2005: 16. Academic OneFile. Web. 12 Mar. 2013.

In-Text Citation Example

("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

("Canned")

Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks. This article is only one page, so the page number is not included in the in-text citation.

Magazine Article From a Library Database - Signed Anonymous

Anonymous. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Name of Database. Format. Access date.

Note: If and only if the work is signed "Anonymous", use Anonymous where you'd normally put the author's name. If the work has no named author but is not signed "Anonymous", follow the example for Unknown Author.

Works Cited List Example

Anonymous. "Tales of a Company Man." InforWorld 13 Mar. 2006: 68. Academic Search Premier. Web. 16 Feb. 2013.

In-TextCitation Example

(Anonymous Page Number)

(Anonymous)

Note: This article is only one page, so the page number is not included in the in-text citation.

Magazine Article From a Website

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."Title of Magazine Date of publication: Page numbers. Format. Access date.

Works Cited List Example

Cosh, Kolby. "Timy Human Brains Threaten Giant Dinosaur Bones in Alberta." Macleans 25 July 2012: n. pag. Web. 18 Jan. 2013.

Note: If no page numbers are provided write "n. pag"

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name)

(Cosh)

Note: This entry has no page numbers so this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Magazine Article in Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Format.

Works Cited List Example

Loney, Sydney. "Family Fare." Today's Parent Jan. 2012: 59-61. Print.

In-Text Citation Example

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

(Loney 59)

Magazine Article in Print - Two or More Authors

Author's Last Name, First Name, Second Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Format.

Note: Only the first author listed appears in "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma. Before the last author to be listed, add the word "and."

Works Cited List Example

Ainsworth-Vincze, Cameron, and Josh Dehass. "Where Do I Belong?" Macleans 22 Nov. 2010: 58-9. Print.

In-Text Citation Example

In-text citations vary for 2, 3, and 4 (or more) authors.

See chart here for examples.

Magazine Article in Print - Unknown Author

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Format.

Works Cited List Example

"Outsmart Your Cravings." Prevention 30 Jan. 2008: 45. Print.

In-Text Citation Example

("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

("Outsmart")

Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.

Note: This article is only one page, so the page number is not included in the in-text citation.

Magazine Article in Print - Signed Anonymous

Anonymous. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine Date of Publication: Page numbers. Format.

Note: If and only if the work is signed "Anonymous", use Anonymous where you'd normally put the author's name. If the work has no named author but is not signed "Anonymous", follow the example for Unknown Author.

Works Cited List Example

Anonymous. "Investors Group Finally Blinks." MoneySense 2012: 10. Print.

In-Text Citation Example

(Anonoymous Page Number)

(Anonymous)

Note: This article is only one page, so the page number is not included in the in-text citation

In-Text Citation For Two or More Authors/Editors

Number of Authors/Editors In-Text Citation Example
Two

(Author's Last Name and Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Case and Daristotle 57)

Three

(Author's Last Name, Author's Last Name, and Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Case, Daristotle, and Hayek 57)

Four or More

(Author's Last Name et al. Page Number)

Example: (Case et al. 57)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.