Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Are you new to Learning Online? We have guides, tools and a variety of supports to help get you started here: Learning Online.

We continue to provide our service virtually while the campus libraries remain closed.

Check our Notifications page for news about our library databases.

Ask Us logoLIVE

English Language Learners - Resources: Research

Find Books, Videos & Articles at Seneca Libraries

What are Library Databases?

Databases are organized collections of information. You may not realize it, but you already use databases in your daily life like Netflix, Spotify and your cell phone's contacts list. 

Library databases are online collections of useful and quality information for your research assignment or project. You'll most likely find articles in library databases, but they can also have eBooks, audiobooks and online videos.

On this page, you'll find lists of useful library databases to start your research.

Learn More about a Topic

Use these library tools to learn more about your research topic.

Watch Videos on a Topic

Use these online video databases to find information on your topic.

Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Use these databases to read articles from magazines and newspapers.

 

Tip: Use the Listen Feature in the databases

Many databases allow you to hear the articles read

Screencapture of the audio feature of a database.

Websites

Why do you need to evaluate websites?

  • The quality of information on websites varies greatly
  • Anyone can create and publish a website
  • Most websites don't have editors or fact checkers
  • You need reliable sources for your assignments
More criteria for evaluating websites
Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.