Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citation Guide (6th ed.): Business Reports from Library Databases

Business Reports - General Format

Note: The citations on this page are recommendations by Seneca Libraries.

 

Library staff recommend the following general format for APA References List citation for a business report:

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. or Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Name of Library Database database. 

Business Source Premier - Reports

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. or Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any [Type of business report]. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

References List Example

MarketLine. (2018, November 16). Tesla Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved from Business Source Premier database.

 Note: Reports found in Business Source Premier will say they are published either by Datamonitor or MarketLine. View the full report to confirm.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (MarketLine, 2018)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (MarketLine, 2018, p. 21)

CARDonline - Advertising Rate

Corporate Author name. (Year of Publication). Name of media or publicationRetrieved from CARDOnline database.

References List Example

Brunico Communications. (2019). Toronto Star. Retrieved from CARDOnline database.

In-Text

(Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (Brunico Communications, 2019)

IBISWorld Industry Report

Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year of Publication, Month). Title of industry report: Subtitle, if available. Retrieved from IBISWorld database. 

References List Example

Ross, O. (2019, April). IBISWorld industry report 51211CA: Movie, TV & video production in Canada. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Ross, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Ross, 2019, p. 3)

MarketLine Advantage - Reports

MarketLine. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Title of report [Type of business report]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database. 

 

References List Example

Example if using only ONE report from MarketLine for the same year:

MarketLine. (2014, December). Renewable energy in Canada [Industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database. 

Example if using MORE THAN ONE report from MarketLine for the same year:

MarketLine. (2014a, December). Oil and gas in North America [Industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.

MarketLine. (2014b, December). Renewable energy in Canada [Industry profile]. Retrieved from MarketLine Advantage database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(MarketLine, Publication Year)

Example: (MarketLine, 2014)

Example if citing multiple reports from the same year: (MarketLine, 2014a) 

In-Text Quote

(MarketLine, Publication Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (MarketLine, 2014, p. 10)

Example if citing multiple reports from the same year: (MarketLine, 2014a, p. 10)

Mintel - Reports

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Mintel database. 

References List Example

​Smith, D. (2019, January 30). Lululemon and SoulCycle capitalize on activewear trends through clothing partnerships. Retrieved from Mintel database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Smith, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Smith, 2019, p.2)

Nexis Uni - Report

LexisNexis. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any [Type of business report]. Retrieved from NexisUni database. 

References List Example

​LexisNexis. (2018, May 14). Air Canada [Company profile]. Retrieved from NexisUni database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(LexisNexis, Year)

Example: (LexisNexis, 2018)

In-Text Quote

(LexisNexis, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (LexisNexis, 2018, p.2)

Passport GMID - Report with a Title

Euromonitor International. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Passport GMID database. 

References List Example

Euromonitor International. (2019, March 4). Eyewear markets of the future: Assessing market attractiveness to 2023. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019, p.6)

Passport GMID - Information without a Title (Charts, Tables, Graphs, etc.)

Euromonitor International. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Description of information [Format]. Retrieved from Passport GMID database. 

References List Example

Euromonitor International. (2019). Price per 10 litres of automotive diesel [Table]. Retrieved from Passport GMID database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Euromonitor International, 2019)

*usually no page number is available

Scott's Directories - Company Profiles

Scott's Directories. (Year of Publication). Title of directory entryRetrieved from Scott's Directories database. 

References List Example

​Scott's Directories. (2019). Aramark Canada Ltd. Retrieved from Scott's Directories database.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Scott's Directories, Year)

Example: (Scott's Directories, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Scott's Directories, Year)

Example: (Scott's Directories, 2019)

*usually no page number is available

Statista

Statista. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from Statista database. 

References List Example

​Statista. (2019, March). Market value of alcoholic drinks in the United States from 2015 to 2020 (in million U.S. dollars). Retrieved from Statista database. 

In-Text Paraphrase

(Statista, Year)

Example: (Statista, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Statista, Year, p. Page Number if given)

Example: (Statista, 2019)

Vividata

Vividata. (Year). [Description of data category]. Retrieved from Vividata database.  

Note: In square brackets, describe the Vividata table you are citing so that your direct your reader to the information. Consider including product type, frequency, and demographics.

Note: For Year, use the time period indicated on the Vividata table. Try downloading the Excel version of your data if you're unable to see the time period.

References List Example

Vividata. (2018). [Potato chips - personally ate in the past 6 months for all respondents 14+ in Ontario]. Retrieved from Vividata database.

In-Text

(Vividata, Year)

Example: (Vividata, 2018)

WGSN - Reports

Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from WGSN database. 

References List Example

​Shinn, J. (2019, March 25). Gen Z: Building new beauty. Author's last name, First initial. Second initial, if given. (Year of Publication, Month Day).Title of report: Subtitle if any. Retrieved from WGSN database. 

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year)

Example: (Shinn, 2019)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name or Corporate Author name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Shinn, 2019, p.2)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.