LibGuides: Graphic Design: Books

Introduction

Books and e-books can be helpful resources for gaining a more in-depth understanding of a topic, or to use as instructional guides for using different design tools. You can find print and electronic books through the main library search box, or by searching through the resources below.

Recently Acquired Books & E-Books

Visual Research: An Introduction to Research Methods in Graphic Design

The Black Experience in Design: Identity, Expression & Reflection

Type Specimens: A Visual History of Typesetting and Printing

Good by Design: Ideas for a Better World

Creating a Successful Graphic Design Portfolio

Extra Bold: A Feminist, Inclusive, Anti-Racist, Nonbinary Field Guide for Graphic Designers

Baseline Shift: Untold Stories of Women in Graphic Design History

eBook Databases

To view all of our ebook databases, visit Databases for Research: ebooks.

Skillsoft Books (formerly known as Books24x7) This link opens in a new window
(SkillSoft) Provides access to thousands of e-books in the fields of computer and information technology, business, and engineering (ITPro, BusinessPro, FinancePro, and EngineeringPro, respectively), as well as "Leadership Channel" videos.
(NOTE: Only selected content from titles' companion CDs is available: "If a title has CD content available, a link to the content will be in the Table of Contents, as well as in appropriate chapters. Also, a direct link to any companion websites is available via the Companion Website tool for applicable titles.")
Details and Terms of Use
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering all academic disciplines.

- Titles may be single-user or multiple-user. Check the information in the "Availability" field of each record.
Users must have Adobe Digital Editions (free download) and a personal Adobe account in order to check out and download e-book titles for extended use. Many titles in this collection are one-copy/one-user-at-a-time titles that may be "signed out" for up to 21 days. Users may place a request for titles that are currently checked out by other users.
Details and Terms of Use
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Provides access to a large collection of e-books in art, business, computer science, education, history, literature, health and medicine, law, and the humanities and social sciences.

- Titles may be single-user or multiple-user. Check the information in the "Concurrent User Level" field of each record.
NOTE: In February 2024, audiobooks formerly on this platform were moved to a different database Boundless Audiobooks from Baker & Taylor.
Users must set up their own "My EBSCOhost" account (free of charge) and also have Adobe Digital Editions (free download) and a personal Adobe account in order to check out e-book titles for extended use. Many titles in this collection are one-copy/one-user-at-a-time titles that may be "signed out" for up to 7 days. Users may place a request for titles that are currently checked out by other users.
Details and Terms of Use
Safari Books Online (also known as O'Reilly for Higher Education) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest / O'Reilly) Provides full-text access to thousands of e-books and videos in IT, Business, Math, Engineering, Design, and other topics.

- If prompted for your 'Academic email' while in the Safari platform, enter your full Seneca Polytechnic e-mail address. If it does not work the first time, enter it a second time. If still unsuccessful, try a different browser.
Details and Terms of Use

Books by Topic

Click on the links below for a list of books on the topic: