LibGuides: Graphic Design: Encyclopedias & Design Reference

Introduction

Reference items are used for quick, factual information. You can often find biographical information, definitions, how-to information, brief histories or topic overviews in these items, making them a great place to start your research.

Selected Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Typography : an Encyclopedic Survey of Type Design and Techniques Throughout History

Design Dictionary: Perspectives on Design Terminology

The Graphic Design Reference and Specification Book

Online Reference Databases

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
(Encyclopaedia Britannica) Online access to the Encyclopdia Britannica as well as Merriam-Webster's Dictionary, the Britannica Year in Review, a World Atlas, and a country comparator.
Details and Terms of Use
Canadian Encyclopedia Online This link opens in a new window
(Historica) Provides access to information about Canadian personalities, places, events, history and achievements.
Details and Terms of Use
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Provides access to Canadian and international magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information.
Details and Terms of Use
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
(Oxford University Press) Provides access to over 300 Oxford reference books via a single Web interface.
Details and Terms of Use
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
(Bloomsbury / ABC-CLIO) A digital library of information and book content on American and world popular culture, past and present. Useful for research on the history, events, trends, and fads of specific decades or historical eras.
Details and Terms of Use