LibGuides: Animation and Game Arts: Art & Technique

Introduction

The library has books, databases, and tutorials for refining your technique, available below. For more information on developing your traditional and digital art technique, see our Art subject guide.

Books from the Library

Force: Character Design from Life Drawing

Force: Dynamic Life Drawing for Animators

Stop Staring: Facial Modeling and Animation Done Right

Sketching for Animation: Developing Ideas, Characters and Layouts in Your Sketchbook

The Complete Guide to Photorealism for Visual Effects, Visualization and Games

Resources for Art & Technique

Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
(Gale) The Gale Fine Arts Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Details and Terms of Use
Stash Media Collection This link opens in a new window
(Stash Media) Thousands of motion design, animation, and VFX projects, including behind-the-scenes features, interviews with professionals, trends and techniques, advertising, brand films, music videos; and short films.
American Illustration Collection This link opens in a new window
(Seneca Polytechnic) The American Illustration Collection includes over 4,000 drawings and paintings, roughly between the dates of 1850 and 1950. The bulk of the holdings highlight the years 1890-1930. The works include pen and ink, watercolor, wash and gouache, and oil paintings. The most prevalent publishers represented in this collection were Scribner and Sons, Century and Co., Harper Brothers, and P.F. Collier and Son. Although many of these illustrations appeared in books, most were from periodicals, notably Century Magazine, Harper's Magazine, St. Nicholas Magazine, Scribner's Magazine, Colliers, Success, Life, and Puck.
Details and Terms of Use
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
(Primal Pictures) A 3D atlas of human anatomy and physiological structures and processes. Click on body parts to get a description of them. Browsable by region of the body or system of the body, or search for a term or use the alphabetical Index. Setting up a separate Anatomy.TV profile is optional.
Details and Terms of Use

GDC Vault This link opens in a new window
(Informa / Game Developers Conference) GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks, and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.

- Our subscription is for up to 50 simultaneous users only.
- Users must click Login [top right menu button] and select "Seneca Polytechnic" to access Members Only content. Please remember to logout when done.
Details and Terms of Use
Safari Books Online (also known as O'Reilly for Higher Education) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest / O'Reilly) Provides full-text access to thousands of e-books and videos in IT, Business, Math, Engineering, Design, and other topics.

- If prompted for your 'Academic email' while in the Safari platform, enter your full Seneca Polytechnic e-mail address. If it does not work the first time, enter it a second time. If still unsuccessful, try a different browser.
Details and Terms of Use
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
(LinkedIn) Online video training tutorials on various topics, applications, and software packages including audio and video production, 3D animation, AutoCAD, Maya, web design, computer programming, and business and office applications.

- Seneca students, faculty, and staff must first register to use this service by creating a separate LinkedIn Learning account through the "Login to LinkedIn Learning" link on the college's LinkedIn Learning page.
- This product was acquired and licensed by Continuing Education, not Seneca Libraries. It is only on our site as a courtesy and research convenience.
Details and Terms of Use

Library Search will retrieve books, eBooks, articles, streaming videos and more. If you are looking for software guides you might want to try limiting your search results to books and eBooks.

You can also search the catalogue for books and eBooks by using the subject searches below:
Computer Drawing
Drawing - Technique
Fantasy in Art
Figure Drawing

Special collections include:
Digital Art Masters
Exposé: Finest Digital Art in the Known Universe