It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome Government Relations students! This subject guide will help you find resources, succeed with your Government Relations research assignments, and it will help your own professional development activities.
Additional support is available by booking a personalized Research Appointment with library staff. You will find the library to be a friendly place to visit when you need guidance finding resources.
(ProQuest) Provides current full-text access to 20 Canadian news sources. There is only partial content from this database available in Library Search/Primo, mostly from larger publications such as the Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and National Post, and very little from the local newspapers.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)(EBSCO) Provides access to research in areas related to communication and mass media. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, and full-text from their first issues to the present.
(LexisNexis) A large multi-tiered database of thousands of sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
ScienceDirect(Elsevier) Provides users with access to a wide range of journal articles and full-text e-books in Health and Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Computers and Technology, and the Social and Behavioural Sciences.
Going DirtyGoing Dirty is a history of negative campaigning in American politics and an examination of how candidates and political consultants have employed this often-controversial technique. The book includes case studies on notable races throughout the television era in which new negative campaign strategies were introduced, or existing tactics were refined and amplified upon. Strategies have included labeling opponents from non-traditional political backgrounds as dumb or lightweight, an approach that got upended when a veteran actor and rookie candidate named Ronald Reagan won the California governorship in 1966, setting him on a path to the White House. The negative tone of campaigns has also been ratcheted up dramatically since the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001: Campaign commercials now routinely run pictures of international villains and suggest, sometimes overtly, at other times more subtly, that political opponents are less than resolute in prosecuting the war on terror. The book also outlines a series of races in which negative campaigning has backfired, because the charges were not credible or the candidate on the attack did not understand the political sentiments of the local electorate they were trying to persuade. The effect of newer technologies on negative campaigning is also examined, including blogs and Web video, in addition to tried and true methods like direct mail.
Call Number: JK2281. M365 2006 (On Reserve at S@Y)
The Nature and Origins of Mass OpinionIn this 1992 book John Zaller develops a comprehensive theory to explain how people acquire political information from elites and the mass media and convert it into political preferences. Using numerous specific examples, Zaller applies this theory to the dynamics of public opinion on a broad range of subjects, including domestic and foreign policy, trust in government, racial equality, and presidential approval, as well as voting behaviour in U.S. House, Senate, and presidential elections. The thoery is constructed from four basic premises. The first is that individuals differ substantially in their attention to politics and therefore in their exposure to elite sources of political information. The second is that people react critically to political communication only to the extent that they are knowledgeable about political affairs. The third is that people rarely have fixed attitudes on specific issues; rather, they construct 'preference statements' on the fly as they confront each issue raised. The fourth is that, in constructing these statements, people make the greatest use of ideas that are, for various reasons, the most immediately salient to them. Zaller emphasizes the role of political elites in establishing the terms of political discourse in the mass media and the powerful effect of this framing of issues on the dynamics of mass opinion on any given issue over time.
The Victory LabNOW WITH A NEW AFTERWORD EXAMINING THE RESULTS OF THE 2012 ELECTION Renegade thinkers are crashing the gates of venerable American institutions, replacing the so-called wise men with a radical new data-driven order. We've seen it in sports, and now Sasha Issenberg tells the hidden story of the analytical revolution upending the way political campaigns are run. The book follows the academics and maverick operatives reengineering a high-stakes industry previously run on little more than gut instinct and outdated assumptions. Armed with research from behavioral psychology and randomized experiments that treat voters as unwitting guinea pigs, the smartest campaigns now believe they know who you will vote for even before you do. Issenberg tracks these fascinating techniques and shows how our most important politicians are putting them to use with surprising skill and alacrity. Provocative, clear-eyed, and skillfully reported, The Victory Lab offers insight into political marketing, human decision making, and the increasing power of analytics.
Call Number: JK2281 .I77 2013 (On Reserve at S@Y)
The Essentials of Political AnalysisPolitical science students need to get comfortable using the tools of political analysis. For stats-phobic undergrads, the research methods course need not need be nerve wracking, especially with Pollock's bestselling text to help them along the way. His brief, accessible guide walks students through the basics - measuring concepts, formulating and testing hypotheses, describing variables - while using key terms, chapter-opening objectives, 80 tables and figures, and class-tested exercises to get them using and applying their new skills. The new Fourth Edition features enhanced treatment of research design and logic-controlled comparison and illustrates complex relationships with more accessible examples. A completely revised rubric further helps students identify these complex relationships in their own research.
Call Number: JA86 .P65 2012
Unaccountable: How Elite Power Brokers Corrupt our Finances, Freedom, SecurityFrom the Tea Party to Occupy Wall Street, however divergent their political views, these groups seem united by one thing: outrage over a system of power and influence that they feel has stolen their livelihoods and liberties. Increasingly, protesters on both ends of the political spectrum and the media are using the word "corrupt" to describe an elusory system of power that has shed any accountability to those it was meant to help and govern.But what does corruption and unaccountability mean in today's world? It is far more toxic and deeply rooted than bribery. Advisors, strategists and other private contractors, which make up an ever-increasing share of the government, act in the best interests of their company, versus beholden to the tax payer.nbsp; Foreign governments with a history of human rights violations, military coups, and more, hire American public relation firms to suppress reports and search results for their crimes.nbsp; Investigative journalism has been replaced by "truthiness."nbsp; From Super PACs pouring secret money into our election system, to companies buying better ratings from Standard & Poors, or the extreme influence of lobbyists in congress, all are embody a "new corruption" and remain unaccountable to our society's supposed watchdogs, which sit idly alongside the same groups that have brought the government, business and much of the military in to their pocket.nbsp;
MacroWikinomics: Rebooting Business and the WorldIn their 2007 bestseller, Wikinomics Don Tapscott and Anthony Williams showed the world how mass collaboration was changing the way businesses communicate, create value, and compete in the new global marketplace. Now, in the wake of the global financial crisis, the principles of wikinomics have become more powerful than ever. Many of the institutions that have served us well for decades or centuries seem stuck in the past and unable to move forward. And yet, in every corner of the globe, a powerful new model of economic and social innovation is sweeping across all sectors-one where people with drive, passion, and expertise take advantage of new Web-based tools to get more involved in making the world more prosperous, just, and sustainable. Tapscott and Williams show that in over a dozen fields-from finance to health care, science to education, the media to the environment-we have reached a historic turning point: cling to the old industrial-era paradigms or use collaborative innovation to revolutionize not only the way we work, but how we live, learn, create, govern, and care for one another. You'll meet innovators such as: * An Iraq veteran whose start-up car company is "staffed" by over 4,500 competing designers and supplied by microfactories around the world * A microlending community where 570,000 individuals help fund new ventures-from Angola to Vietnam * An online community for people with life-altering diseases that also serves as a large-scale research project * An astronomer who is mapping the universe with the help of 250,000 citizen scientists Tapscott and Williams once again use original research to provide vivid new examples of organizations that are successfully embracing the principles of wikinomics to change the world. Visit www.Macrowikinomics.com.
Call Number: HC79.I55 T369 2010
Wikinomics: How Mass Collaboration Changes EverythingIn just the last few years, traditional collaborationin a meeting room, a conference call, even a convention centerhas been superseded by collaborations on an astronomical scale.Today, encyclopedias, jetliners, operating systems, mutual funds, and many other items are being created by teams numbering in the thousands or even millions. While some leaders fear the heaving growth of these massive online communities, Wikinomicsproves this fear is folly. Smart firms can harness collective capability and genius to spur innovation, growth, and success.A brilliant guide to one of the most profound changes of our time, Wikinomicschallenges our most deeply-rooted assumptions about business and will prove indispensable to anyone who wants to understand competitiveness in the twenty-first century.Based on a $9 million research project led by bestselling author Don Tapscott, Wikinomicsshows how masses of people can participate in the economy like never before. They are creating TV news stories, sequencing the human genome, remixing their favorite music, designing software, finding a cure for disease, editing school texts, inventing new cosmetics, or even building motorcycles. You'll read about: Rob McEwen, the Goldcorp, Inc. CEO who used open source tactics and an online competition to save his company and breathe new life into an old-fashioned industry. Flickr, Second Life, YouTube, and other thriving online communities that transcend social networking to pioneer a new form of collaborative production. Mature companies like Procter & Gamble that cultivate nimble, trust-based relationships with external collaborators to form vibrant business ecosystems. An important look into the future, Wikinomicswill be your road map for doing business in the twenty-first century.
Call Number: HD69.S8 T37 2006
Growing up Digital: The Rise of the Net Generation* Growing Up Digital tells how the Net Generation is learning to communicate, work, shop, & play by using the Internet as a basic resource. * Explains everything you need to know to anticipate the tremendous changes about to take place, how to take advantage of them, how to plan for the future & how to capitalize on the latest "kids' movement." * Features stories from interviews conducted with 100 members of the N-Generation
Canada's Information Resource Centre (CIRC)The Governments Canada resource is a comprehensive tool for Locating People and Programs in Canadian Government.
The Canadian Parliamentary Guide provides comprehensive information on elected and appointed memebers in federal and provincial government.
Use the Assignment Calculator to help you with time management of your project. This tool is simple to use, just identify the start and end dates, choose your assignment type, and you will be given a customized timeline of your work.
Online Collections of Polls
Polling firms will often provide a written reports with links to the raw data tables. Look out for links to tables or methods. The example below shows links to detailed Tables in an Ipsos polling report.
(Statista, Inc.) Statistical data and analysis of business, industry, product brands, market share, media, and social scientific topics, public opinion polls, obtained from both private and public sector sources, and covering all regions of the world.
Use the Seneca Libraries APA Citation Guide to support integration of sources in your academic work. The Citation Guide will help you avoid plagiarism, create in-text citations, and citations for your References page.
Use the Seneca Libraries MLA Citation Guide to support integration of sources in your academic work. The Citation Guide will help you avoid plagiarism, create in-text citations, and citations for your Works Cited page.