It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides search tips and information on finding topics such as art, art history, technique, illustration, and more. Learn about where you can look for recommended materials within and outside of the library.
Museums and galleries help to preserve our cultural and natural heritage, and make artists' creative output accessible to researchers, academics, and the public. Many national museums make a large portion of their collections and exhibitions digitally available, as well as valuable research and learning materials. You can view these works individually or within the context of their collection to analyze and understand the materials used, artistic style, unique perspective, and their place within their broader culture.
Below you will find art galleries and museums from around the world, with contemporary and historical collections made available for your viewing online. Explore the wide variety of artworks and collections materials from these renowned institutions.
DIY-artist run project dedicated to providing exhibition space to emerging artists, fostering dialogues with established voices, and providing a platform for culturally diverse artists and curators. Located in Toronto.
The MOMAT contains works of art from Japan and overseas spanning more than a century, from 1900 to the present day. Currently, the collection contains more than 13,000 works of various genres including nihon-ga (modern Japanese-style paintings), oil paintings, prints, watercolors, drawings, sculptures, photography, and film. In recent years, the museum has increased its focus on acquiring works by major overseas artists who have had a significant influence on Japanese art.
Established as the Annex Museum of the National Museum of Modern Art in Tokyo, the National Museum of Modern Art, Kyoto (MoMAK) collects outstanding works of art as well as related books and materials, with particular emphasis on nihonga (Japanese-style painting) and crafts.
The National Museum of the Philippines develops the national reference collections in the areas of artistic and cultural heritage and natural history, and carries out permanent research programs in biodiversity, geological history, human origins, pre-historical and historical archaeology, maritime and underwater cultural heritage, ethnology, art history, and moveable and immoveable cultural properties. Many of these items are featured online.
The Hong Kong Museum of art maintains a collection of over 17,000 items, representing the unique cultural legacy of Hong Kong's connection across the globe. View exhibitions and works from various collections online.
The museum houses more than 110,000 pieces of various collections, most of which are representative works of different periods and great artworks of Chinese art masters from ancient times till today, constituting art development history since the beginning of modern China. Collections also include some ancient paintings and calligraphy works, foreign artistic works as well as folk art.
Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks.
de Young collections—encompassing American paintings, sculptures, and decorative arts; modern and contemporary art; art from Africa, Oceania, and the Americas; and textile arts—reflect an active conversation among cultures, perspectives, and time periods.
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s collection—from the renowned icons to lesser-known works from every corner of the globe—as well as books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
The American Illustrators Gallery features the foremost illustrators and exhibits only the highest-quality examples of their original artwork. Review their collections and traveling exhibitions online.
Located in Mexico City, Museo Jumex is an institution devoted to contemporary art, whose aim was not only to serve a broad and diverse public, but also to become a laboratory for experimentation and innovation in the arts.
With more than 210,000 objects representing Australia’s history and cultural heritage, with a focus on Indigenous histories and cultures, European settlement, and human interaction with the environment, the collection aims to build connections between objects, memory, imagination and lived experience – across cultures, communities and time.
The MNBA preserves collections of Chilean and foreign art from the Colony to the present day, totaling more than five thousand pieces. These are exhibited through the permanent exhibition that is structured through various themes, many of which are available for viewing online.