LibGuides: Art: Technique

Traditional vs. Digital

Traditional media and techniques can include pencil, pen, ink, paint, and anything traditionally used to create art.

Digital art is art which has been either created or significantly altered by a computing process. With hardware and software always changing it can be difficult to navigate information and find what you need. Be aware of your software versions when searching for material, and if you're struggling to find books and instructional content in Seneca's catalogue, try choosing a specific ebook or video tutorial database listed below:

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Provides access to a large collection of e-books in art, business, computer science, education, history, literature, health and medicine, law, and the humanities and social sciences.

- Titles may be single-user or multiple-user. Check the information in the "Concurrent User Level" field of each record.
NOTE: In February 2024, audiobooks formerly on this platform were moved to a different database Boundless Audiobooks from Baker & Taylor.
Users must set up their own "My EBSCOhost" account (free of charge) and also have Adobe Digital Editions (free download) and a personal Adobe account in order to check out e-book titles for extended use. Many titles in this collection are one-copy/one-user-at-a-time titles that may be "signed out" for up to 7 days. Users may place a request for titles that are currently checked out by other users.
Details and Terms of Use
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
Details and Terms of Use
Safari Books Online (also known as O'Reilly for Higher Education) This link opens in a new window
Details and Terms of Use
Skillsoft Books (formerly known as Books24x7) This link opens in a new window
(SkillSoft) Provides access to thousands of e-books in the fields of computer and information technology, business, and engineering (ITPro, BusinessPro, FinancePro, and EngineeringPro, respectively), as well as "Leadership Channel" videos.
(NOTE: Only selected content from titles' companion CDs is available: "If a title has CD content available, a link to the content will be in the Table of Contents, as well as in appropriate chapters. Also, a direct link to any companion websites is available via the Companion Website tool for applicable titles.")
Details and Terms of Use

Artist Materials in Toronto

Find your supplies in and around Toronto:

Aboveground Art Supplies

Curry's Artists' Materials

DeSerres

Gwartzman's Art Supplies

The Japanese Paper Place

Midoco Art & Office Supplies

Toronto Collective

Daniel's Art Supplies

ARTiculations Art Supply

Journals

Perfect Your Technique!

101 More Mixed Media Techniques by Marsh Scott; Heather Greenwood; M. Moody
ISBN: 9781633220539
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
From printmaking and wabi-sabi painting topaper collage and resists, 101 More Mixed Media Techniques has something for everyartist and is guaranteed to spark new forms of creativity!
A Complete Guide to Drawing by Domingo Manera
ISBN: 1644618001
Publication Date: 2019-05-31
The author has spent many years in French art schools. At present, he is a renowned Master of drawing and a Professor at the "Scuola del Libro della Società Umanitaria". This volume contains mature experiences, stepped didactics and the clarity of concepts and lines that make it unique in the world of teaching, at all levels, of the most complex drawing techniques.
The Art of Drawing People (Collector's Series) by Debra Kauffman Yaun; William F. Powell; Ken Goldman; Walter Foster
ISBN: 9781633227958
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Learn to draw one of art's most interesting and challenging subjects. Packed with practical advice, helpful tips, and fundamental drawing techniques, The Art of Drawing People explores how to capture detailed poses and likenesses in graphite pencil.
Remixing and Drawing by Ellen Mueller
ISBN: 1351190628
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
This succinct book articulates a clear framework for remixing and drawing at intermediate and advanced levels. It begins by walking through the ideas of copyright and fair use, providing context, examples, and advice. With a full chapter on techniques, including approaches to brainstorming, critique, and reflection, this book features over 50 exercises that are easily adapted to various approaches, media, and technologies as necessary.
Gouache: An Artist's Guide to Painting with Gouache by Agathe Singer
ISBN: 1633224961
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Give gouache a try with Anywhere, Anytime Art: Gouache! This book offers a fun, fresh look at painting on the go.
Expressive Painting: Tips and Techniques for Practical Application by Joseph Stoddard
ISBN: 1633224686
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Learn to paint colorful watercolors full of mood and emotion with Portfolio: Expressive Painting.
Mastering Perspective (Success in Art) by Andy Fish
ISBN: 1633228584
Publication Date: 2020-06-09
Success in Art: Mastering Perspective allows beginning artists to take their drawing skills to the next level-with detailed, step-by-step instruction for creating depth and realism using perspective.
The Art of Comic Book Drawing: More than 100 Drawing and Illustration Techniques by Jim Campbell (Contribution by); Maury Aaseng (Contribution by); Walter Foster Creative Team
ISBN: 1633228304
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Learn everything you need to make your own comic books, characters, and storyboards with The Art of Comic Book Drawing.

Finding Resources to Improve Your Technique

Whether you are looking to brush up your technique or learn a new style, there are many resources within and outside of the library that can help you to level up your skills. Below, you will find e-book databases that include resources with overviews of styles, tips and tricks from artists, and recommended tools.

You will also find video tutorials that aim to instruct you on developing skills, primarily in digital software. Find videos that cover human anatomy, creating digital art, and more!

Finally, check out some of the recommended books on technique within the library, as well as some websites to visit for artists materials and professional development.

Video Tutorials

Sometimes it can be helpful to consult video tutorials for assistance in developing skills and learning new digital software. The databases listed below include videos, as well as self-paced courses to help you to develop your skills and technique!

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
(Primal Pictures) A 3D atlas of human anatomy and physiological structures and processes. Click on body parts to get a description of them. Browsable by region of the body or system of the body, or search for a term or use the alphabetical Index. Setting up a separate Anatomy.TV profile is optional.
Details and Terms of Use
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
Online video training tutorials on various topics, applications, and software packages including video production, 3D animation, AutoCAD, Maya and design.
Details and Terms of Use
Safari Books Online (also known as O'Reilly for Higher Education) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest / O'Reilly) Provides full-text access to thousands of e-books and videos in IT, Business, Math, Engineering, Design, and other topics.

- If prompted for your 'Academic email' while in the Safari platform, enter your full Seneca Polytechnic e-mail address. If it does not work the first time, enter it a second time. If still unsuccessful, try a different browser.
Details and Terms of Use

Subject Terms

Search the library catalogue instantly with these terms:

Web Resources

Academy of Art Canada
A traditional drawing and painting academy in Toronto for the aspiring fine artist devoted to the study of poetic realism in portraiture, figurative, landscape and still life art
Fine Arts Tutorials
Free art tutorials aimed at artists of any skill level looking to improve and elevate their practice
Skillshare - Illustration
Take illustration, or other creative classes, in an online learning community with self-paced tutorials.