Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Are you new to Learning Online? We have guides, tools and a variety of supports to help get you started here: Learning Online.

We continue to provide our service virtually while the campus libraries remain closed.

Check our Notifications page for news about our library databases.

Ask Us logoLIVE

International Business: Industries

Best Bets:
Additional Databases:

Websites:

News Databases:
Article Databases:

Industry codes identify an industry or service a business provides:

  • NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) is the most common industry code and is used to find ratio information.
  • SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) is predominantly being replaced by NAICS. 

Frequently asked questions about the NAICS code.

maple leaf Canadian Statistics:
globe Global Statistics:

Industry ratios are an aggregate measure of industry performance.

Data is gathered from the financial statements of hundreds of firms to calculate industry averages.

The results are often broken into categories based on the asset size of the companies.

The ratios are then used as a benchmarking tool in comparing a company's performance to that of its industry.

Which database do I use?
Video Tutorial

Watch this video to learn more about selected sources for company and industry research (including IBISWorld, Mintel, Passport GMID, and MarketLine):

Database Support

Please check our Notifications page first to see if there are current known issues with our databases.

For troubleshooting tips, or to report a technical problem with any of our databases, please use the Report a Database Access Problem form.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.